Act Nos,
7 of 1967
[28th March
, 1967
Short title.

1 This Act may be cited as the National Council of the Young Men’s Christian Associations of Ceylon (Incorporation) Act.

Incorporation of National Council of the Y.M.C.A.s of Ceylon,

2. From and after the passing of this Act, the President, Vice-Presidents and members for the time being of the National Council of the Young Men’s Christian Associations of Ceylon shall be and become a corporation forever under the name and style of “The National Council of the Young Men’s Christian Associations of Ceylon”, (hereinafter referred to as ” the Council”), and by that first-mentioned name shall and may sue and be sued in all courts with full power and authority to have and use a common seal and alter the same at their pleasure.

General objects of the Council.

3. The general objects for which the Council is constituted are hereby declared to be to facilitate the work of the Young Men’s Christian Associations in Sri Lanka, to represent the Young Men’s Christian Associations of Ceylon in national and international organizations, to provide leadership and guidance to local Associations in all aspects of their programme, to provide leadership in the extension of the Young Men’s Christian Association Movement in Sri Lanka, to organize All-Ceylon Conferences, Camps, Inter Young Men’s Christian Association Tournaments and other activities and to recruit and train Secretaries, Instructors, Lay Leaders and other workers for the Young Men’s Christian Associations in Sri Lanka.



(1) The Council shall consist of the persons appointed in accordance with the rules of the Council in force for the time being, and an Executive Committee may be appointed to administer the affairs of the Council in accordance with the said rules.

(2) The first Council under this Act shall consist of:-

President-E. W. Kannangara, Esq.

Vice-Presidents-Fred E. de Silva, Esq., Dr. G. N. R. Nathaniel.

Hony. Treasurer-T. L. V. Perera, Esq.

National General Secretary-R. 0. Buell, Esq.

Representatives from member Associations:

Amparai:-Col. A. J. Sextone, President, Hugh Canagasabey, Esq., Hony. General Secretary.

Colombo:-S. J. C. Schokman, Esq., President. L. G. G. Wijesinghe, Esq., General Secretary. B. E. Fernando, Esq., Representative. P. de Vaz, Esq., Chairman, Central Branch.

Dehiwala:-Major L. V. Gooneratne, Chairman. A. C. Rebera, Esq., Hony. Joint Secretary. C. S. Mendis, Esq., Hony. Joint Secretary.

Ml. Lavinia:-Dr. A. M. Fernando, Chairman. H. E. de Silva, Esq., Hony. Secretary.

Galle:-C. Cotelingam, Esq., President. Dr. Austin W. Perera, Hony. General Secretary,

Jaffna-.-C. A. W. Edwards, Esq., President. J. G. Arasaratnam, Esq., Hony. General Secretary.

Jaffna College:-A. R. Kadirgamar, Esq., President. Dr. J. B. Selliah, Hony. General Secretary.

Kandy :-,G. T. R. Perinpanayagam, Esq., Hony. General Secretary. Dr. W. R. C. Paul, Representative.

Matale:-Dr. E. V. P. Jesudason, President. P. Sangiah, Esq., Hony. General Secretary.

Moratuwa:-Douglas R. T. de Silva, Esq., Hony. General Secretary. J. L. D. Perns, Esq., Representative. Dr. H. A. Aponso, Representative. Boyd I. Perera, Esq., Representative. Neil A. Fernando, Esq., Representative.

Navaly:-Rev. S. S. Arulampalam, President. A. Gnanasigamony, Esq., Hony. General Secretary. I. T. Joseph, Esq., Representative.

Paranthan :-S. Sebaratnem, Esq., President. Rev. A. C. Thambyrajah, Hony. General Secretary and

R. H. de Mel, Esq., Rev. Celestine Fernando, H. A. J. Hulugalle, Esq., Kenneth J. Somanander, Esq.

Rules of the Council.

5. The rules set forth in the Schedule* hereto shall for all purposes be the rules of the Council:

Provided, however, that nothing in this section contained shall be held or construed to prevent the Council at all times hereafter, at a duly constituted general meeting, from making fresh rules, or from altering, amending, adding to, or cancelling any of the rules set forth in the Schedule* or which hereafter may be made by the Council.

Amendment of rules.

6. No rule in the Schedule*, nor any rule which may hereafter be passed at a general meeting of the Council, shall be altered, added to, amended, or cancelled, except by a vote of two-thirds of the persons present and entitled to vote at any general meeting, and unless such amendment or cancellation shall have been previously circulated among local Associations which are affiliated to the Council and any comments thereon made by such local Associations are placed before the meeting at which such amendment or cancellation comes up for decision. Such amendment may be passed by such general meeting with or without modification.

How Seal of the Council is to be affixed.

7. The seal of the Council shall not be affixed to any instrument whatsoever except in the presence of two of the members of the Council, who shall sign their names to the instrument in token of their presence and such signing shall be independent of the signing of any person as a witness.

Council may hold property, movable and immovable.

8. The Council shall be capable in law to take and hold any property, movable or immovable, which may become vested in it by virtue of any purchase, grant, gift, testamentary disposition, or otherwise, and all such property shall be held by the Council for the purpose of this Act; and subject to the rules for the time being of the said Council with full power to sell, mortgage, lease, exchange or otherwise dispose of the same.

Saving of the rights of the Republic, and others.

9. Nothing in this Act contained shall prejudice or affect the rights of the Republic, or of any body politic or corporate, or of any other persons, except such as are mentioned in this Act, and those claiming by, from, or under them.

Chapter 449